





SPONSORS OF INESS-2018

GOLD SPONSOR

The International Science and Technology Center (ISTC), Kazakhstan



SILVER SPONSOR

Hohsen Corp., Japan

Hohsen Corp.

Biokhim Pribor Co., Kazakhstan

MUXCMG P U E D P

BRONZE SPONSOR

Interactive Corporation, Kazakhstan



Kurt J. Lesker Co., United Kingdom



The special edition "Eurasian Chemico-Technological Journal" presents the selected papers presented at the 6th International Conference on Nanomaterials and Advanced Energy Storage Systems (INESS-2018), organized by Nazarbayev University (NU), PI National Laboratory Astana (NLA) and Institute of Batteries LLP (IoB). The scientists from Japan, Korea, France, China, Russia, Canada, UAE, UK, Turkey, Kazakhstan and other countries reviewed and discussed the recent progress and problems in materials science, nanotechnologies, ecology, renewable energy, energy storage systems and modelling methods in these fields. INESS is an open event with the participants from academia, industry and investor sectors, which become an effective platform for the scientist from whole over the world to gather and discuss the current trends and future development of research in various directions of materials science, energy conversion and storage, catalysis, electrical transport, sensors and electroanalytical applications and other.

Highlights of the INESS-2018:

About 120 participants worked in sections of INESS-2018. Local media spotlighted the conference on national TV channels. Invited speakers of INESS-2018 delivered their talks. Partner companies and sponsors exhibited their product at the INESS Exhibition. The best Poster and the Best oral presentation among young researchers were awarded. The participants of INESS-2018 visited ethnographic resort Balkaragay near the Astana city, where they could enjoy various amenities including horse riding. For more details please see batterykazakhstan.com. About 20 full length papers were received for the INESS-2018 Proceedings.

The Organizing Committee would like to thank the reviewers for their work in reviewing these manuscripts.





Jean-Pierre Pereira-Ramos

Professor, Director, CNRS, Group Electrochemistry and Spectroscopy of Materials – GESMAT, France. Lecture: The γ' -V₂O₅ Polymorph as an Attractive 2D Cathodic Material for Lithium and Sodium-Ion Batteries.



Seung-Taek Myung

Editor, Journal of Power Sources. Professor, Faculty of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials Engineering, Sejong University (South Korea). Lecture: Distorted Orthorhombic Type Na-Mn-O Cathode Materials.



Sung-Soo Kim

Professor, Graduate School of Energy Science and Technology, Chungnam National University (South Korea). Lecture: Structural and Thermal Stabilities of Li_xCoO₂ cathode for LIB studied by a temperature programmed reduction (TPR).



Hirokazu Munakata

Professor, Department of Applied Chemistry, Graduate School of Urban Environmental Science, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan.

Lecture: Development of a quasi-solid composite electrolyte for 3D-structured batteries.



Amit Goyal

Professor, Director of the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary RENEW (Research & Education in Energy, Environment & Water), Institute at SUNY-Buffalo in Buffalo (USA).

Lecture: High-performance, heteroepitaxial, nanolaminate device layers on singlecrystal-like, artificial substrates and controlled self-assembly of anostructures within device layers for wide-ranging electrical and electronic applications.



Maksym Myronov

Dr., PhD, Nano-Silicon Group Leader, Principal Research Fellow, Principal Growth Scientist, Warwick University (United Kingdom).

Lecture: In situ doping of silicon carbide semiconductor via epitaxy.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE OF INESS-2018

- 1. Chairman Ilesanmi Adesida, Provost of NU, Kazakhstan
- 2. Co-Chairman Charalabos Doumanidis, NU, Kazakhstan
- 3. Co-Chairman Kanat Baigarin, NU, Kazakhstan
- 4. Co-Chairman Zhumabay Bakenov, NLA, School of Engineering, NU, IoB, Kazakhstan
- 5. Co-Chairman Zhaxybay Zhumadilov, General Director, NLA, NU, Kazakhstan
- 6. Co-Chairman Charles Surya, NU, Kazakhstan
- 7. Co-Chairman Yang-Kook Sun, Hanyang University, Korea
- 8. Co-Chairman Hidehiro Sakurai, Osaka University, Japan
- 9. Co-Chairman Maksym Myronov, University of Warwick, England
- 10. Co-Chairman Masataka Wakihara, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
- 11. Co-Chairman Kiyoshi Kanamura, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
- 12. Co-Chairman Mikhail Nauryzbayev, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, Kazakhstan
- 13. Co-Chairman Desmond Adair, NU, Kazakhstan
- 14. Co-Chairman Woojin Lee, NU, Kazakhstan
- 15. Co-Chairman Moulay-Rachid Babaa, NU, Kazakhstan
- 16. Technical Secretary Indira Kurmanbayeva, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 17. Scientific Secretary Arailym Nurpeissova, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 18. Talgat Inerbayev, L.N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University, Kazakhstan
- 19. Almagul Mentbayeva, NU, Kazakhstan
- 20. Aliya Mukanova, NU, Kazakhstan
- 21. Berik Uzakbaiuly, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 22. Kuralay Korzhynbayeva, IoB, Kazakhstan
- 23. Sandugash Kalybekkyzy, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 24. Dauren Batyrbekuly, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 25. Nurzhan Baikalov, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 26. Assel Serikkazieva, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 27. Gaukhar Taltanova, NLA, Kazakhstan
- 28. Aigerim Baimyrza, NU, Kazakhstan



Yongguang Zhang

applications.

sity (Kazakhstan).

Zulkhair Mansurov

Professor, Associate Professor, Research Institute for Energy Equipment Materials, Hebei University of Technology (China).

Professor, Department of Chemi-

cal Physics and Material Sciences,

Al-Farabi Kazakh National Univer-

Lecture: Synthesis of multifunctional few layers graphenes for different

Lecture: A novel CuS/graphene-coated separator for suppressing the shuttle effect of Lithium/sulfur batteries.



Jongsoon Kim

Assistant Professor, Department of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials Engineering, Sejong University (South Korea).

Lecture: $Na_3V(PO_3)_3N$: New zero-strain and 4V cathode material for Na-ion batteries.

SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- 1. Chairman Zulkhair Mansurov, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, Kazakhstan
- 2. Sung-Soo Kim, Chungnam National University, Korea
- 3. Jean-Pierre Pereira-Ramos, CNRS et Université Paris Est Créteil, France
- 4. Seung-Taek Myung, Sejong University, Korea
- 5. Hirokazu Munakata, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Acknowledgements

The INESS-2018 sponsors: Hohsen Corp., Japan (K. Tagawa), National Laboratory Astana (Z. Zhumadilov), Biokhim Pribor Co., Kazakhstan (P. Kharitonov), Interactive Corporation, Kazakhstan (A. Batrakov), ISTC Kazakhstan (A. Turebayev) and Kurt J. Lesker (P. Szanto) for providing financial and technical support for INESS.



Zhumabay Bakenov

Co-Chairman of the Organizing Committee and Guest Editor Professor, Director of Center for Energy and Advanced Materials Science, National Laboratory Astana, Professor of School of Engineering, Nazarbayev University, Founder of Institute of Batteries LLP.



Arailym Nurpeissova

Scientific Secretary

Dr., Head of Laboratory of Advanced Materials and Systems for Energy Storage, National Laboratory Astana, Kazakhstan